A standalone sim

For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been getting more excited at the idea of making a simulator of townsfolk, their actions and economy, and maybe even their town planning and construction, depending on how far I want to take it. This isn’t for any particular purpose, but seems like a really appealing prospect, just as something to do.

Last night I decided that there are a couple of things I could branch out of this, if it ever gets to a workable state: a 3D renderer, which would give me an opportunity to build and flex my DirectX muscles; and a game, which would obviously be more marketable, but also let me plat around with the simulation in different ways.

I do have a reasonably good idea for a game to make with this theoretical simulation, but I’m not getting ahead of myself; the sim itself is what will need the focus here, and anything else would just be tacked on.

Now I just need to find the time to get started with some more serious planning.

One thought on “A standalone sim

  1. Pingback: Making a man chop down a tree: modeling economic rationality « Block Comments

Leave a Reply

